Embracing Stillness

Photo:  Sister Nancy A. Sell, OSF

Photo: Sister Nancy A. Sell, OSF

I did not notice at first.  I was thinking about the envelope in my hand ready to mail.  I needed to have it weighed.  I was in line at the post office –about 10 minutes to spare before they closed.  The line was not long.  I was grateful.   I had a 5:30PM commitment a ways away.

All of a sudden I noticed the woman in front of me in line–she was next to go to the counter.  She was tapping her foot and chewing hard on her gum.  She sighed a lot.  She mumbled.  She was stylishly dressed and seemed to have a lot going for her, yet seemed troubled.   I wondered what was wrong.  Her turn came to approach the count.  She charged up to the counter with a small package.  The postal clerk began to ask the usual and necessary questions about anything liquid, fragile or potentially hazardous.  She interrupted him.  No, no, no, I just want to mail it.  I saw the man’s countenance change.  He looked hurt and surprised at her behavior.  He took the package and went in the back room.  She remained at the counter  He came out and politely asked her if he could help her with anything else.  I need a receipt, she said.  I then realized it was a return, pre-paid package.  Then she say, I’m sorry.  She said, “I’m sorry” about four times.  She left.

How many times I asked myself am I so preoccupied with my own concerns that I lose the sense of stillness inside and become impatient or not understanding another.  In the gospel of Luke (16: 1-13) from the Christian scriptures we hear a story of treasure, the inner resources we have to be in tune with what is most important in our lives:  love of God, love of self and love of others.  In the midst of the everyday challenges of life it is sometimes difficult to carry stillness within. Yet the invitation is there.  Even though everything around us may be falling apart, the divine spirit within calls us to stillness and to know what is most important in our lives.

Our invitation is to embrace stillness.

Blessings and peace

About SisterNancy

I am a Catholic Sister, a member of the School Sisters of St. Francis from Milwaukee, Wisconsin. I enjoy swimming and nature: hiking in the mountains and along rolling hills, sitting by water and walking through the various seasons of life. I am a spiritual director and spirituality consultant. You can contact me at sisternancyosf@gmail.com Visit our Community at: www.sssf.org or facebook.com/schoolsistersofstfrancis
This entry was posted in divine spirit, God, Nun, Spirituality, stillness, Treasure and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Embracing Stillness

  1. Marian says:

    Thank you for your reflection, which again is so timely and good for us to ponder. Our lives seem to be full and demanding, but there is always time to “step back and listen” to life around us. Pope Francis is a great example for me here. He really listened to the unemployed at Sardinia this week, and then threw away his prepared talk in order to speak directly with them about their concerns. Plus, he speaks and shares from his heart.

    Your sharing is always from your life and your heart also. Thank you, Sister Nancy!

Leave a Reply

