Journeying Through Life Without A Script

 Recently I had a dream that has stayed with me.  In the dream, I am preparing to give an introduction at a meeting of a large group of people.   Someone told me there was a script.  I went from this person to the other looking for the script.   I couldn’t find a script.  I initially felt frustrated.  Then I realized that there was “no script needed”.  I had the freedom to be creative, I could be open to new possibilities.  I woke up feeling very grateful for the dream!

 There are times in our lives when we desperately want a script, something that would show us the way in more difficult situations:   experiencing illness–our own, a loved one, a friend— or experiencing a break in a relationship or we wonder about our life direction.  Often in life we encounter new situations.   We are on “unchartered waters”  or a “road never traveled”.  We desperately want a “script” to know how to deal with the particular life event.  What we discover is that there isn’t a script and really there is “no script needed.”  As uncomforatble as it might be to face the situation without certitude, we go forward without a script or a road map.   As best we can in each moment, we remain open to receive the wisdom of God in our lives to show us the way…we endeavor to become more and more comfortable with life as it unfolds.    We allow the wisdom of God to be part of our journey by taking time for quiet, being still, allowing ourselves to be in the moment, going for a walk,  appreciating the world around us, talking with trusted others, taking a moment to breathe, looking at people and situations with compassionate eyes.   Journeying through life without a script is not always easy…we rely on the Presence of God to be with us in the unfolding of our lives.

Blessings and Peace on your journey.

About SisterNancy

I am a Catholic Sister, a member of the School Sisters of St. Francis from Milwaukee, Wisconsin. I enjoy swimming and nature: hiking in the mountains and along rolling hills, sitting by water and walking through the various seasons of life. I am a spiritual director, spirituality consultant, chaplain and retreat director. You can contact me at sisternancyosf@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

