Embracing Lent: A Journey Through Springtime

Photo: Sister Nancy A. Sell, OSF

Ash Wednesday, which is February 22nd this year, is the official beginning of Lent.    As a child I looked forward to Lent.  There was something special about Lent I could not put into words.  Before Lent, I decided what I would “do” for Lent.   I usually “gave up” candy and movies and couldn’t wait for the first piece of chocolate on Easter Sunday.   As life went on I realized that Lent invites attentiveness to relationship with self, God and others.  What is Lent?

Lent is the time from Ash Wednesday to Easter Sunday, The word Lent, derived from Anglo-Saxon,  literally means “spring”.  Often spring is a time when we think of opening windows to let in fresh air.  We prepare soil for planting.  Our attention turns to ways we procrastinated on projects that would make homes or various abodes neat, clean and more enjoyable.

In a similar way, Lent invites us to focus on “inner” renewal and conversion, slowing down within, allowing new life to spring forth.   During Lent we are more in tune with God, inner wisdom, creative spirit and we co-operate in allowing new life to spring forth.  Our Lenten journey might involve checking things out with someone, taking risks to hear another’s truth.  Lent is a time to see goodness in ourselves and others instead of being  swept away by jealously, envy or insecurity.  Openness to new life during Lent may involve “embracing something”:  generosity, gratitude, gentleness, forgiveness, reconciliation, etc.  Lent is about the “stuff” of our everyday lives.

During these weeks of Lent, I will offer weekly reflections posted by Thursday of each week of Lent.  If you would like to receive e-mail notification of new postings please fill in the form at the bottom of the blog.  I look forward to journeying together as we embrace Lent, the Springtime of our lives.

Blessings and peace,

Suggestion for reflection: It is often said that Lent comes to us.  We are aware of aspects of our lives that are in need of healing, change or transformation.  We do not have to look for something “to do” during Lent.  What is taking place in my life?  In what ways am I open to God’s spirit within me and around me during Lent?  What do I want to “embrace” during these days of Lent?

About SisterNancy

I am a Catholic Sister, a member of the School Sisters of St. Francis from Milwaukee, Wisconsin. I enjoy swimming and nature: hiking in the mountains and along rolling hills, sitting by water and walking through the various seasons of life. I am a spiritual director, spirituality consultant, chaplain and retreat director. You can contact me at sisternancyosf@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Catholic Sister, Meaning of life, Nun, Reflections, SisterNancy, Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Embracing Lent: A Journey Through Springtime

  1. Charlie Wieber says:

    Looking forward to your weekly
    Lenten Reflecten
    God”s Blessings.
    Charlie Wieber

  2. Marian says:

    Thanks for a meaningful start to my Lenten reflections. I am already looking forward to the Thursday’s ideas and thoughts.

  3. Susan M Steinke says:

    Thank you Sister I hope to receive your reflections. I will be looking forward to them. Susan Steinke

  4. Terri Zivney says:

    Thank you for sharing your insights and reflections.

Leave a Reply

