Second Sunday of Easter: Embracing Divine Presence

Photo: Sister Nancy A. Sell, OSF

I recently faced an important decision in my life.   Even though  I knew where my heart was leading me, there was a part of me that doubted.   I asked God to give me a sign–something that would confirm my thought process.   I don’t usually ask God for signs.  Asking for signs is not the kind of relationship I have with God.  In this case I did.  I even surprised myself when I used this language. 

As the days went on I had two dreams not directly related to the situation yet full of images that gave me insight.  They affirmed my thought process.  Not convinced, however, I asked for another “sign”.   A situation in “real time” took place that made it clear.  I stared in disbelief as the scene unfolded before me.   I became convinced of the direction I needed to take.   I sent an e-mail that afternoon.

 God acts through the very “stuff” of our lives.  The “signs” I received took place through very ordinary situations—dreams and a real life situation.  So what was I really saying  when I asked for a sign?  I was asking God/Divine Presence to heighten my awareness, to help me see more clearly possibilities I could not fully imagine.  I asked to go beyond my comfort zone, to risk and to trust.  I asked for strength and openness.

In the Gospel of John from the Christian scriptures, we see the apostles gathered together after the death of Jesus.  Jesus came to them and wished them peace.  His presence empowered them to turn doubt to certainty and fear to trust.  They became more aware of divine presence in their midst and change took place in their lives.

The writer and poet Ralph Waldo Emerson said, “Though we travel the world over to find the beautiful we must carry it with us or we find it not.”  In our world today we search everywhere for happiness, peace and contentment.  We sometimes think it is found in having more and doing more.  The beautiful in the midst of joy, sadness, good and difficult times is found in embracing divine presence within us and around us while gently opening ourselves to being moved beyond where could have hoped for or imagined.

Blessings and Peace

About SisterNancy

I am a Catholic Sister, a member of the School Sisters of St. Francis from Milwaukee, Wisconsin. I enjoy swimming and nature: hiking in the mountains and along rolling hills, sitting by water and walking through the various seasons of life. I am a spiritual director, spirituality consultant, chaplain and retreat director. You can contact me at sisternancyosf@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Catholic Sister, decisions, divine presence, doubt, Inner Wisdom, Second Sunday of Easter, SisterNancy, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

