Embracing Waves

Photo: Sister Nancy A. Sell, OSF

Years ago I visited my parents in Florida and often swam in the Gulf.  I loved swimming into the waves,  letting the waves take me wherever they wanted.   I had no problem just letting myself go with the waves leading.  I was attentive to the moment and my surroundings and relished the surprises of the waves.  We often meet waves of a different sort in our everyday lives.

Somehow, however, the waves of life are different.  Do we relish and embrace the waves of life?  There are situations in our lives over which we have  little or no control.  It may seem  as though we are riding a roller coaster or waves:  the long anticipated birth of a baby does not come soon enough, our death or the death of a loved one becomes a long journey, there is uncertainty in job situations, grieving is difficult, concern about children or other situations in life which present a sense of mystery and confusion to which we can only ride the wave of uncertainty.

In John’s Gospel (6:1-15 ) we find Jesus riding waves of uncertainty.  Jesus seeks to feed a large group of people from a couple of loaves of bread.   The disciples tell Jesus there isn’t enough.    There was enough.  Jesus’s action points to the abundance that is present in life and not scarcity.  When viewed through the lens of abundance and not scarcity there is enough.

Often in riding the waves of life we feel as though there is no control where we desperately want control.  The waves of life can feel uncomfortable.  Our invitation is to embrace the waves seeing abundance in each situation.

Our invitation is to embrace waves.

Blessings and peace,

About SisterNancy

I am a Catholic Sister, a member of the School Sisters of St. Francis from Milwaukee, Wisconsin. I enjoy swimming and nature: hiking in the mountains and along rolling hills, sitting by water and walking through the various seasons of life. I am a spiritual director, spirituality consultant, chaplain and retreat director. You can contact me at sisternancyosf@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Catholic Sister, control, dying, SisterNancy, Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Embracing Waves

  1. Theresa Held says:

    Yes, those waves in life can be scary but, I found a little plaque that says”God’s in charge”. That has helped me face those waves with confidence!!

  2. Marian says:

    Once again, thank you for your reflection this week. Going with the waves can be fun, for sure. But many times it seems scary, and that is quite uncomfortable for me. I usually like to have my life planned and be in control of it, but I am trying to learn to “let go” a little more often. I want to go more freely with the wave of God’s plan.

Leave a Reply

