Embracing the Coming

Embracing the Coming

Photo: Sister Nancy A. Sell, OSF

It was a day of transitioning and remembering.  I sat quietly in the early morning hours settling in to be still and quiet.  A farewell reception was to be held later in the morning for me as I transition from one ministry to another.  I am not good with good-byes.  I felt tears in my eyes.  Change and good-byes. It was also the fourth month anniversary of my Dad’s passing to the next life.  Four months?  So much has happened in those four months, I reflected.   As I sat quietly on the floor, I gazed toward one window which is my practice.   In the midst of these moments,  I suddenly realized that the brilliant, beautiful full moon and the brightest star in the sky were shining in the other window.  I turned my gaze in absolute amazement and gratitude.  The full moon and the brightest star in the sky have rich, treasured meaning for me.  I almost missed the comfort and reassurance as I looked in the other direction.  How often in my life do I miss the treasures of life because I am looking in a predetermined direction?

The gospel of Luke (21:25-28, 34-36) from the Christian scriptures for the first Sunday of Advent reminds us that we do not know the day or the hour or which direction life will take us.  Often when we hear these words we immediately think of the end of the world or our own physical death.  Even as these interpretations are possible, there is more.  We do not know the day or the hour when the Divine’s presence will break through our uncertainty and fear, our pain, our angst, our hurt, our confusion, our sadness.  Like the beautiful radiant moon and the brightest star, the divine in our lives comes tenderly and assuredly to be with us in the midst of the very “stuff” of our lives.    At times we may need to turn from our accustomed way of seeing to be open to another way.

We embrace the coming of the Spirit of God right where we are even as we pray for a miracle for a difference in life.  Or can it be that the miracle is the embrace of God in the midst of the fray of life. 

Our invitation is to embrace the coming of the Divine in each moment of our lives.

Blessings and peace

About SisterNancy

I am a Catholic Sister, a member of the School Sisters of St. Francis from Milwaukee, Wisconsin. I enjoy swimming and nature: hiking in the mountains and along rolling hills, sitting by water and walking through the various seasons of life. I am a spiritual director, spirituality consultant, chaplain and retreat director. You can contact me at sisternancyosf@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Advent, Catholic Sister, divine presence, Spirituality and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Embracing the Coming

  1. Catherine A. Berg says:

    Dear Sr. Nancy,
    Your coments today opened up new meaning for me as I, too, saw a new direction as I gazed at the full moon and the morning star here in our Arizona sky. May I never stop on this path and always feel open to new directions. Thanks, Sister.

Leave a Reply

