Embracing the Miracle of Life

Photo:  Sister Nancy A. Sell, OSF

Photo: Sister Nancy A. Sell, OSF

The computer is one of the greatest inventions.  The word processing allows for writing, creating and reshaping anew without starting all over again.   The internet creates the possibility for greater communication and  understanding.    The world expands through the internet and virtual communication.  Yes, there are draw backs as well.  What is amazing, however, is the rate in which technological  advances have emerged.   A question remains:  have our emotional, psychological and spiritual understandings and ways of being with one advanced at the same rate as technology?

Even with all the available technology violence remains:  wars, prejudice, envy, jealousy, atrocities against women, discrimination based on race, creed or lifestyle.  It is often said that the greatest distance is between our head and our heart.  Yes, technological advances have brought our world closer together, filling the world with good.  What will bring us closer together at the level of the heart as women and men, Muslim and Christian, etc.?   On some days the situation seems dire as headlines fill the internet or the newspaper with sad stories of violence and death.   Yet, just as technology has advanced so can our ways of relating to one another.  We may be stretched and transformed in the process bringing hope and respect for each person.   We see the possibility for change in a passage from Luke  (Luke 7:11-17) in the Christian scriptures.

The story unfolds.  She is a widow.  Her only son died.   Jesus sees her weeping.   His heart moves with compassion.  Don’t weep, he told her.  Arise, he said while touching the coffin.   I tell you young man arise!  He unites with his mother.  The people watching are fearful, they have never seen such wonders.  Nothing is impossible when we are in tune with the divine source of life, Jesus seems to say.   Arise to life’s possibilities!   Arise to the extraordinary!  Arise to the miracle of life!

Arise to a world filled with wonder and possibility.  Arise to our part in that possibility:  respect for one another, compassion, empathy.  The healing of our weeping world takes place one person at a time.  Weeping ceases only in time after the violence stops.  What is our part in embracing the miracle of life?

Do I really listen to another, to their hurt and longing?  Do I interrupt someone when they are talking?  In my haste for a conversation to go on, do I finish someone’s sentence cutting them off?  Do I put someone down when they speak?  Do I treat others as objects?  Am I controlling and dictatorial?

In the deepest recesses of my being, do I live out the understanding of the Imago Dei–that all persons, women and men, all races, all religions are made in the image and likeness of God.  If I answer “yes” to this question, are my actions in line with my belief?     Do I treat others as I would like to be treated?  How am I a part of the cycle of violence?  In what ways do I stop the cycle of violence?  In what ways am I a part of the miracle of life?  Arise!

Embracing the weeping world takes one step at a time.  Will I talk that step?  Arise!

Our invitation is to embrace the miracle of life.

Blessings and peace,

About SisterNancy

I am a Catholic Sister, a member of the School Sisters of St. Francis from Milwaukee, Wisconsin. I enjoy swimming and nature: hiking in the mountains and along rolling hills, sitting by water and walking through the various seasons of life. I am a spiritual director, spirituality consultant, chaplain and retreat director. You can contact me at sisternancyosf@gmail.com
This entry was posted in divine within, miracle, respect, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Embracing the Miracle of Life

  1. Dorothy Reinke says:

    The technological world is very powerful and I marvel how the very young embrace it all so easily and it is great. But I often wonder what would help them to embrace the spiritual aspects of life more readily as well..

  2. Marian says:

    Very powerful reflection this week. As much as I love the computer and the ease that many jobs can now be accomplished, I know how important it is to take time away from technology and enjoy life! Thank you for your sharing.

Leave a Reply

